Monday, June 25, 2018
  [ login ]
Seminar - "Engineering mechanics of epithelial cell monolayers", by Marino Arroyo

Wednesday, January 18th, 2017. Time: 12 p.m.

Place: O.C. Zienkiewicz Conference Room, C1 Building, UPC Campus Nord, Barcelona.


Epithelial monolayers are extremely simple tissues. They are cohesive sheets of cells attached to a matrix, which delimit free surfaces in our body. Yet, they perform vital functions in the absorption of nutrients, the secretion of various substances, the protection against pathogens, etc. From an engineering point of view, they are remarkable material interfaces capable of adopting 3D shapes adapted to their function, of resisting extreme deformations, and of self-healing if damaged. In this talk, I will report on recent research where the behavior of epithelial monolayers is understood using engineering mechanics and computations.


Associate Professor, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya-BarcelonaTech (UPC). Associate Research Professor at CIMNE. Prof. Arroyo obtained a PhD from Northwestern University under the supervision of Ted Belytschko. He then spent two years as a post-doc at Caltech, working with Michael Ortiz, before joining the UPC in 2004.

His research interests at the intersection between engineering, computational and applied mechanics, mathematical modeling, applied physics, and more recently biophysics and mechanobiology. His work includes modeling and simulation of the nonlinear mechanics of various thin film structures (thin shells graphene, biomembranes, epithelial cell sheets), with a close look at quantitative experiments. He has also worked on methods to upscale molecular simulations in carbon nanostructures, lipid bilayers, and molecules. He has also developed new meshfree methods and applied them to phase-field problems. See for a list of publications.

Prof. Arroyo has been awarded with a Starting Grant from the European Research Council, and has been distinguished with an Icrea Academia Award. He has also received the O. C. Zienkiewicz Award for Young Scientists in Computational Engineering Sciences (ECCOMAS) and the ASME/BOEING Structures and Materials Award.