Prize and Awards


The International Association for Computational Mechanics announces the call for nominations for five awards to recognize outstanding contributions in computational mechanics:

The IACM Congress Medal (Gauss-Newton Medal)

The IACM Congress Medal (Gauss-Newton Medal) is the highest award given by IACM. It honors individuals who have made outstanding, sustained contributions in the field of computational mechanics generally over periods representing substantial portions of their professional careers. The medal is bronze and carries the images of Newton and Gauss in recognition of the synergy between mathematics, numerical analysis, and mathematical modeling of physical events that underpin much of the broad field of computational mechanics.

The IACM Award

The IACM Award is given in recognition of outstanding and sustained contributions to the broad field of computational mechanics. These contributions shall generally be in the form of important research results which significantly advance the understanding of theories and methods impacting computational mechanics, but special individual contributions in leadership and administration, industrial applications, and engineering analysis that advance computational mechanics shall also represent accomplishments worthy of recognition.

The IACM Award Computational Mechanics

The IACM Award Computational Mechanics will be given for contributions to traditional areas, such as computational structural mechanics and computational fluid dynamics, but may also be given to recognize contributions outside these specific areas. For example, the Award may be given in recognition of accomplishments in software development, scientific computing, research contributions in computational electromagnetics, semi-conductor device simulation, biomechanics or other areas not traditionally embraced by computational structural mechanics and fluid dynamics but which have general applicability to computational mechanics.

The IACM Young Investigator Award

The IACM Young Investigator Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments, particularly outstanding published papers, by researchers 40 or younger. Eligibility requires that the nominee not turn 41 in the year the award is presented.

The IACM Fellows Award

The IACM Fellows Award recognizes individuals with a distinguished record of research, accomplishment and publication in areas of computational mechanics and demonstrated support of the IACM through membership and participation in the Association, its meetings and activities.



Fifth Competition for the John Argyris Award (2010)