CIMNE renews its Scientific Advisory Council

Published: 24/04/2023

CIMNE has recently renewed its Scientific Advisory Council (SAC), an advisory structure appointed by the Governing Council to provide CIMNE with scientific guidance and research excellence assurance. The SAC is composed by independent world leading scientists in the fields of computational mechanics, numerical methods in engineering, and any of the disciplines of interest for CIMNE. 

Recently, three new members have joined this team of experts:

Willcox Prof. Karen Willcox, former professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and current director of the Oden Institute for Engineering and Computational Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin, United States.
Spencer Sherwin Prof. Spencer Sherwin, professor and director of the Aerospace Engineering department at Imperial College London, United Kingdom.
Estefanía Peña Prof. Estefania Peña, prestigious professor at the University of Zaragoza.

With these new additions, the CIMNE SAC reaches a percentage of female representation of 30%, a figure that is still far from parity, but one that represents progress in that direction.