16th edition of the COMPLAS Conference

Published: 09/09/2021

The 16th edition of the International Conference on Computational Plasticity (COMPLAS 2021) was held at Technical University of Catalonia (UPC) on September 7-9th 2021. The COMPLAS conference series started in 1987 and since then have taken place in UPC  on a biannual basis jointly organized by academics from UPC and University of Swansea (UK). The COMPLAS conferences have become prestigious established events in the field of computational plasticity and related topics.

COMPLAS organizers
The COMPLAS 2021 Co-chairs. From left to right: G. peric, E. de Souza, M. Chiumenti and E. Oñate

COMPLAS 2021 was successfully held on hybrid mode under the organization of CIMNE. The conference chairs were Eugenio Oñate and Michele Chiumenti (CIMNE/UPC) and Djordje Peric and Eduardo de Souza (University of Swansea, UK). The technical programme included 140 presentations in the in-person mode. Some other 150 participants presented their work online. All together the conference was attended by some 400 persons (170 in-person and 230 online).

Complas courseSome in-person attendants to the COMPLAS Course

Complas Miramar
Appreciation Dinner at Círculo Ecuestre, Barcelona

The COMPLAS 2021 conference run very successful from the scientific, engineering and social points of view. The social programme included a reception at UPC gardens, an appreciation dinner for plenary lecturers and Invited Session organizers and a banquet held at the gardens of Miramar hotel in Barcelona.

The conference event was preceded by a two days course on Computational Plasticity that gathered 26 in-person participants and some other 30 participants that attended the course on-line.

IACM and ECCOMAS Awards Ceremony

The event hosted the IACM and ECCOMAS awards ceremony. The face-to-face awards ceremony was to take place within the framework of the WCCM 2020 to be held in Paris. Finally, this event had to be held online in January 2021. This is the reason why, taking advantage of the COMPLAS 2021 celebration, the prizes were awarded to the winners present in the congress hall.

Eugenio Oñate Complas 2021
Prof. Eugenio Oñate during his speech after collect the medal

Prof. Eugenio Oñate has been awarded the ECCOMAS Ritz-Galerkin Medal 2020 by ECCOMAS and Prof. Xavier Oliver the Gauss-Newton Medal by the IACM. Both professors took the stage to collect their respective medals and thank the recognition medals for their research careers to their families, colleagues and friends. As we can see in the image below, Profs. Marino Arroyo and Irene Arias, IACM Fellow Award winners by the IACM, also collected their prizes.

Xavier Oliver Complas 2021
Antonio Huerta, president of the IACM, presenting the award to Prof. Xavier Oliver

Arias Arroyo Complas 2021
From left to right: Profs. Marino Arroyo, Irene Arias and Antonio Huerta

Related News

  • Marino Arroyo, Irene Arias, Xavier Oliver and Eugenio Oñate awarded at WWCM in Computational Mechanics & ECCOMAS Congress [read full new]
  • Eugenio Oñate has been awarded the ECCOMAS Ritz-Galerkin Medal 2020 [read full new]
  • Xavier Oliver, awarded the Gauss-Newton Medal by the IACM [read full new]
  • Thread on Twitter [Read it on Twitter]